Skip to content
Product finder
Opens in a new tab.
Axis Bank · researched credit card

Airtel Axis Bank Credit Card

A narrow but potentially high-value cashback card when the household's telecom and utility behavior matches the qualifying Airtel Thanks routes.

First-party evidenceActiveReviewed September 11, 2026
Annual fee₹500 from the second year on the current Axis Bank product page
Joining fee₹500 on the current Axis Bank product page
NetworkAxis Bank network variant as issued; the current product page does not state one mandatory network for every applicant.
Last reviewedSeptember 11, 2026
Research processPublished by bankingreference.info

Structured from first-party bank/issuer evidence. This page does not claim personal hands-on product use unless that experience is explicitly stated.

3 first-party sources
Last checkedSeptember 11, 2026

Recorded source review date, not a claim that the product changed that day.

Maintenance stateWithin scheduled review window

Target recheck: October 26, 2026.

Decision brief

Start with fit before chasing headline benefits.

The card may be attractive for a specific use case while still being a poor fit once fees, spending thresholds, exclusions or travel conditions are considered.

Potential fit

Airtel households that can route eligible telecom and utility bills through Airtel Thanks.

Before you apply
  • Cashback depends on channel and category eligibility, and statement-cycle caps materially limit headline percentages.
  • The lounge spend test looks back over the previous three calendar months after the initial new-card waiver window.
  • Rent and wallet-load transactions do not count toward the current annual-fee waiver threshold.
Four critical factors

Read these four fields before anything else.

They usually determine whether the card's published proposition survives contact with your actual spending and travel pattern.

Reward modelReviewed Axis T&Cs document 25% cashback on eligible Airtel bills via Airtel Thanks (capped) and 10% on eligible utility payments via Airtel Thanks (capped)
Fee waiverAnnual fee waived on annual spends above ₹2,00,000; rent and wallet-load transactions are excluded from waiver spend under current terms.
Lounge access4 complimentary domestic airport lounge visits per year under Axis Bank lounge terms, subject to ₹50,000 eligible spend in the previous 3 calendar months after the new-card waiver period.
Forex markup3.50% foreign-currency transaction fee on the current product page; DCC markup is separately published for INR-denominated international/overseas-registered-merchant transactions.
Published terms

Exact decision fields from the maintained profile.

These fields preserve source wording and conditions rather than reducing the card to a single score.

Joining fee₹500 on the current Axis Bank product page
Annual fee₹500 from the second year on the current Axis Bank product page
Fee waiverAnnual fee waived on annual spends above ₹2,00,000; rent and wallet-load transactions are excluded from waiver spend under current terms.
RewardsReviewed Axis T&Cs document 25% cashback on eligible Airtel bills via Airtel Thanks (capped) and 10% on eligible utility payments via Airtel Thanks (capped)
NetworkAxis Bank network variant as issued; the current product page does not state one mandatory network for every applicant.
Lounge access4 complimentary domestic airport lounge visits per year under Axis Bank lounge terms, subject to ₹50,000 eligible spend in the previous 3 calendar months after the new-card waiver period.
Forex markup3.50% foreign-currency transaction fee on the current product page; DCC markup is separately published for INR-denominated international/overseas-registered-merchant transactions.
Value interpretation

Separate published mechanics from personal value.

The same card can produce very different value depending on where you spend, whether you hit thresholds and whether caps or exclusions matter.

Annual-cost test

Treat the annual fee as a cost that must be recovered from benefits you would have used anyway.

Reward-value test

Cashback is easier to value than points, but caps and excluded merchant categories can materially reduce the headline rate.

Travel-benefit test

Travel perks are not the central reason to choose this card; compare the primary earning categories first.

Approval reality

Published eligibility is not a promise of approval. Issuers can apply internal underwriting, documentation and credit-limit policies.

Decision checklist

Five questions to answer before applying.

These questions turn the researched terms into a personal decision without estimating approval odds.

Annual-cost question

Would you pay the stated annual fee if you did not hit the waiver?

₹500 from the second year on the current Axis Bank product page · Annual fee waived on annual spends above ₹2,00,000; rent and wallet-load transactions are excluded from waiver spend under current terms.

Earning question

Does your normal spending actually fall into the card’s rewarded categories?

Reviewed Axis T&Cs document 25% cashback on eligible Airtel bills via Airtel Thanks (capped) and 10% on eligible utility payments via Airtel Thanks (capped)

Travel question

Are the lounge and international-use terms useful for your real travel pattern?

4 complimentary domestic airport lounge visits per year under Axis Bank lounge terms, subject to ₹50,000 eligible spend in the previous 3 calendar months after the new-card waiver period. · 3.50% foreign-currency transaction fee on the current product page; DCC markup is separately published for INR-denominated international/overseas-registered-merchant transactions.

Complexity question

Can you realistically track the caps, channels and exclusions behind the headline benefit?

Cashback depends on channel and category eligibility, and statement-cycle caps materially limit headline percentages. The lounge spend test looks back over the previous three calendar months after the initial new-card waiver window.

Eligibility question

Does the application route fit your profile without assuming approval?

Subject to Axis Bank approval

Eligibility & underwriting

Published eligibility is not an approval prediction.

Income, bureau history, geography, documentation, existing relationship and the issuer's internal underwriting can all change the outcome.

Published eligibility

Subject to Axis Bank approval

Maintained comparisons

Compare this card against exact researched alternatives.

Pairs are curated only where the engine has enough decision value to justify a maintained comparison page.

Browse all maintained card comparisons →
First-party evidence ledger

Verify the card against the documents behind the profile.

Source links, reviewed fields and unresolved verification gaps remain visible. Research freshness is not a guarantee that the issuer has not changed terms after the stated review date.

Evidence statefirst party verified
ReviewedSeptember 11, 2026
Issuer documents3
Terms confirmed in the profile
Joining feeAnnual feeFee waiverRewardsLoungeForexEligibilityStatus
Issuer evidenceDocument typeOpen
Primary sourceIssuer product pageView ↗
Supporting source 2Terms & conditionsView ↗
Supporting source 3MITC / controlling termsView ↗

Verification means these published terms were checked against the linked first-party issuer material on the review date. It does not mean the issuer guarantees approval, a credit limit or that terms cannot change later.