Skip to content
Product finder
Opens in a new tab.
Savings account comparison

Canara Champ Deposit Scheme vs Canara Junior Savings Account

Compare Canara Champ Deposit Scheme and Canara Junior Savings Account using the controlling cost, balance, rate, tenure, liquidity, limits, eligibility and current first-party bank evidence for this product type.

Savings account comparison

Canara Champ Deposit Scheme vs Canara Junior Savings Account

Compare the two source-backed records without collapsing unlike conditions into a winner score.

Latest underlying reviewSeptember 9, 2026
Canara BankCanara Champ Deposit Scheme

Parents/guardians of younger children who want a simple bank savings habit product rather than child-operated digital/card access.

Cost / pricing
Initial deposit can start at ₹100. The bank requires at least two credits each half-year aggregating ₹500 in rural/semi-urban or ₹1,000 in urban/metro branches, and states no penalty for non-maintenance of minimum balance.
Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Evidence
1 bank source
Open product research
Canara BankCanara Junior Savings Account

Minor students above 10 who can operate independently and need a low-limit account with education-payment support.

Cost / pricing
The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Evidence
1 bank source
Open product research
Compare like with likeThese records share the same product type.
Conditions stay attachedBalance, tenure, channel, relationship and effective-date wording stays visible.
No missing-data inferenceMissing wording never means zero cost or unlimited access.
Keep an offline research copyPrint the full comparison or choose Save as PDF in your browser. All decision checkpoints are expanded for the print copy.

bankingreference.info · Comparison research sheet

Canara Champ Deposit Scheme vs Canara Junior Savings Account

Prepared 14 Sep 2026 · Source page: https://bankingreference.info/compare-banking/canara-champ-deposit-scheme-vs-canara-junior-savings-account/

General product research only. Recheck the listed first-party sources before acting because product terms can change after the recorded review dates.

Decision checkpoints

Answer the questions that can actually change the choice.

Each checkpoint reproduces the recorded product fields instead of assigning a winner. Read the condition, scope and missing-data state before treating a difference as useful to you.

01Can you maintain the required account conditions?Start with the eligible customer or relationship and any balance, funding or tenure requirement.

Canara Champ Deposit Scheme

Eligibility
Children up to age 12 (through 11 years and 364 days) under current Canara Champ terms.
Balance / relationship
No conventional minimum-balance penalty is stated; the scheme instead uses a small opening amount and minimum periodic credit activity.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Eligibility
Minor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.
Balance / relationship
Balance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.
02Which charges apply to your account use?Read the full cost wording and scope rather than comparing isolated numbers.

Canara Champ Deposit Scheme

Cost / charges
Initial deposit can start at ₹100. The bank requires at least two credits each half-year aggregating ₹500 in rural/semi-urban or ₹1,000 in urban/metro branches, and states no penalty for non-maintenance of minimum balance.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Cost / charges
The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
03What operating and relationship rules could change the fit?Check limits and the ongoing relationship conditions before choosing.

Canara Champ Deposit Scheme

Limits / allowances
Joint accounts and cheque books are not permitted under the scheme; excess balance above ₹5,000 can be moved into a deposit in the minor's name under the published mechanics.
Ongoing relationship rule
Early-childhood savings scheme; the current page does not document a named debit-card relationship.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Limits / allowances
Maximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.
Ongoing relationship rule
Canara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.
Exact terms

Put the controlling banking fields side by side.

The stored field wording is preserved. Product-type-specific evidence follows this generic comparison where deeper structured research exists.

On a small screen, scroll this table sideways. The factor column stays visible.

Table region. When the region itself has keyboard focus, use Left and Right arrows to scroll horizontally; Home and End move to the start or end.

Banking product terms side by side for Canara Champ Deposit Scheme and Canara Junior Savings Account
Decision factorCanara Champ Deposit SchemeCanara Junior Savings Account
Cost / chargesInitial deposit can start at ₹100. The bank requires at least two credits each half-year aggregating ₹500 in rural/semi-urban or ₹1,000 in urban/metro branches, and states no penalty for non-maintenance of minimum balance.The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
Balance / relationshipNo conventional minimum-balance penalty is stated; the scheme instead uses a small opening amount and minimum periodic credit activity.Balance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.
Core benefitsFree collection of qualifying gift cheques/DDs up to ₹25,000, education-loan preference subject to transaction conduct, and automatic regular-savings conversion after majority.Debit card, branch withdrawal, free eligible fund transfer to colleges/educational institutions within the scheme limit, and conversion to regular savings after majority.
Limits / allowancesJoint accounts and cheque books are not permitted under the scheme; excess balance above ₹5,000 can be moved into a deposit in the minor's name under the published mechanics.Maximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.
EligibilityChildren up to age 12 (through 11 years and 364 days) under current Canara Champ terms.Minor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.
Ongoing relationship ruleEarly-childhood savings scheme; the current page does not document a named debit-card relationship.Canara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.
Wrong-fit risks

Keep each product’s cautions beside the product.

A useful comparison shows what can make either option unsuitable instead of averaging those conditions into a score.

Canara Bank

Canara Champ Deposit Scheme

  • Champ targets children below 12 and should not be compared as if it were a self-operated teen/student account.
  • The scheme requires periodic credits even though it has no minimum-balance penalty.
  • No cheque book is issued, and the page does not establish a named debit-card endpoint.
Canara Bank

Canara Junior Savings Account

  • This is not an ordinary unrestricted student account; the ₹50,000 balance, ₹1 lakh annual-credit and ₹10,000 monthly-debit ceilings materially constrain use.
  • The debit-card monthly withdrawal cap is ₹5,000 even though the total monthly debit cap is ₹10,000.
  • The account converts to regular savings after majority, so adult account terms should be rechecked then.
Research tools

Continue from the pair into exact product-level research.

These tools help narrow or inspect the records. They do not replace bank eligibility, live pricing or account-specific controls.

Independent source state

Verify each product from its own bank evidence.

One side's source depth or freshness never fills a gap in the other record.

First-party source appendix

These are the exact source URLs already attached to the two research records. Re-open the controlling documents before relying on a fee, rate, limit, eligibility rule or benefit.

Canara Champ Deposit Scheme

Reviewed September 9, 2026 · 1 attached first-party source

  1. Issuer product pagehttps://www.canarabank.bank.in/canara-champ-deposit-scheme

Canara Junior Savings Account

Reviewed September 9, 2026 · 1 attached first-party source

  1. Issuer product pagehttps://www.canarabank.bank.in/canara-junior-saving-account