Skip to content
Product finder
Opens in a new tab.
Savings account comparison

Canara Junior Savings Account vs Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Compare Canara Junior Savings Account and Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account using the controlling cost, balance, rate, tenure, liquidity, limits, eligibility and current first-party bank evidence for this product type.

Savings account comparison

Canara Junior Savings Account vs Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Compare the two source-backed records without collapsing unlike conditions into a winner score.

Latest underlying reviewSeptember 9, 2026
Canara BankCanara Junior Savings Account

Minor students above 10 who can operate independently and need a low-limit account with education-payment support.

Cost / pricing
The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Evidence
1 bank source
Open product research
Kotak Mahindra BankKotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Families that want a Kotak minor account and can evaluate the underlying savings-account variant and any RD/SIP-linked fee-waiver conditions rather than assuming one universal zero-balance structure.

Cost / pricing
Average Monthly Balance is determined by the selected underlying Savings Account variant; current Junior material also describes RD/SIP-based maintenance-charge waiver conditions.
Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Evidence
1 bank source
Open product research
Compare like with likeThese records share the same product type.
Conditions stay attachedBalance, tenure, channel, relationship and effective-date wording stays visible.
No missing-data inferenceMissing wording never means zero cost or unlimited access.
Keep an offline research copyPrint the full comparison or choose Save as PDF in your browser. All decision checkpoints are expanded for the print copy.

bankingreference.info · Comparison research sheet

Canara Junior Savings Account vs Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Prepared 14 Sep 2026 · Source page: https://bankingreference.info/compare-banking/canara-junior-savings-account-vs-kotak-junior-savings-account/

General product research only. Recheck the listed first-party sources before acting because product terms can change after the recorded review dates.

Decision checkpoints

Answer the questions that can actually change the choice.

Each checkpoint reproduces the recorded product fields instead of assigning a winner. Read the condition, scope and missing-data state before treating a difference as useful to you.

01Can you maintain the required account conditions?Start with the eligible customer or relationship and any balance, funding or tenure requirement.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Eligibility
Minor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.
Balance / relationship
Balance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.

Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Eligibility
Child below 18, resident minor; guardian may be resident or NRI under current Kotak Junior eligibility.
Balance / relationship
AMB requirement follows the Savings Account variant selected for Junior; qualifying RD/SIP standing-instruction conditions can affect maintenance-charge treatment under current terms.
02Which charges apply to your account use?Read the full cost wording and scope rather than comparing isolated numbers.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Cost / charges
The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.

Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Cost / charges
Average Monthly Balance is determined by the selected underlying Savings Account variant; current Junior material also describes RD/SIP-based maintenance-charge waiver conditions.
03What operating and relationship rules could change the fit?Check limits and the ongoing relationship conditions before choosing.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Limits / allowances
Maximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.
Ongoing relationship rule
Canara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.

Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Limits / allowances
For juniors above 10, Kotak currently states a ₹5,000 limit for both ATM and POS on the Junior Savings Account debit card.
Ongoing relationship rule
Kotak identifies a personalised Junior debit card but does not identify a sufficiently exact standalone named card variant on the reviewed page, so no named-card edge is invented.
Exact terms

Put the controlling banking fields side by side.

The stored field wording is preserved. Product-type-specific evidence follows this generic comparison where deeper structured research exists.

On a small screen, scroll this table sideways. The factor column stays visible.

Table region. When the region itself has keyboard focus, use Left and Right arrows to scroll horizontally; Home and End move to the start or end.

Banking product terms side by side for Canara Junior Savings Account and Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account
Decision factorCanara Junior Savings AccountKotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account
Cost / chargesThe current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.Average Monthly Balance is determined by the selected underlying Savings Account variant; current Junior material also describes RD/SIP-based maintenance-charge waiver conditions.
Balance / relationshipBalance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.AMB requirement follows the Savings Account variant selected for Junior; qualifying RD/SIP standing-instruction conditions can affect maintenance-charge treatment under current terms.
Core benefitsDebit card, branch withdrawal, free eligible fund transfer to colleges/educational institutions within the scheme limit, and conversion to regular savings after majority.Personalised debit card, cheque book, junior offers/events and recurring-investment/savings options under the current Junior proposition.
Limits / allowancesMaximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.For juniors above 10, Kotak currently states a ₹5,000 limit for both ATM and POS on the Junior Savings Account debit card.
EligibilityMinor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.Child below 18, resident minor; guardian may be resident or NRI under current Kotak Junior eligibility.
Ongoing relationship ruleCanara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.Kotak identifies a personalised Junior debit card but does not identify a sufficiently exact standalone named card variant on the reviewed page, so no named-card edge is invented.
Wrong-fit risks

Keep each product’s cautions beside the product.

A useful comparison shows what can make either option unsuitable instead of averaging those conditions into a score.

Canara Bank

Canara Junior Savings Account

  • This is not an ordinary unrestricted student account; the ₹50,000 balance, ₹1 lakh annual-credit and ₹10,000 monthly-debit ceilings materially constrain use.
  • The debit-card monthly withdrawal cap is ₹5,000 even though the total monthly debit cap is ₹10,000.
  • The account converts to regular savings after majority, so adult account terms should be rechecked then.
Kotak Mahindra Bank

Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

  • Junior is not one universal zero-balance proposition because AMB follows the chosen savings variant.
  • RD/SIP-based waiver economics depend on the standing instruction remaining eligible/active.
  • The ₹5,000 card limit applies to eligible juniors above 10.
Research tools

Continue from the pair into exact product-level research.

These tools help narrow or inspect the records. They do not replace bank eligibility, live pricing or account-specific controls.

Independent source state

Verify each product from its own bank evidence.

One side's source depth or freshness never fills a gap in the other record.

Kotak Mahindra Bank

Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Attached first-party sources
1
Open primary bank source ↗

First-party source appendix

These are the exact source URLs already attached to the two research records. Re-open the controlling documents before relying on a fee, rate, limit, eligibility rule or benefit.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Reviewed September 9, 2026 · 1 attached first-party source

  1. Issuer product pagehttps://www.canarabank.bank.in/canara-junior-saving-account

Kotak Mahindra Bank Junior Savings Account

Reviewed September 9, 2026 · 1 attached first-party source

  1. Issuer product pagehttps://www.kotak.com/en/personal-banking/accounts/savings-account/my-junior-kids-savings-account/features.html