Skip to content
Product finder
Opens in a new tab.
Savings account comparison

Canara Junior Savings Account vs Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Compare Canara Junior Savings Account and Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER) using the controlling cost, balance, rate, tenure, liquidity, limits, eligibility and current first-party bank evidence for this product type.

Savings account comparison

Canara Junior Savings Account vs Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Compare the two source-backed records without collapsing unlike conditions into a winner score.

Latest underlying reviewSeptember 9, 2026
Canara BankCanara Junior Savings Account

Minor students above 10 who can operate independently and need a low-limit account with education-payment support.

Cost / pricing
The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.
Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Evidence
1 bank source
Open product research
Union Bank of IndiaUnion Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Students who want a public-sector zero-balance account with explicit age/course eligibility and a defined age-25 conversion point.

Cost / pricing
No minimum balance requirement under the current SBZER product page; nil NEFT charges are highlighted. Other service/card charges remain subject to the bank's current schedule.
Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Evidence
2 bank sources
Open product research
Compare like with likeThese records share the same product type.
Conditions stay attachedBalance, tenure, channel, relationship and effective-date wording stays visible.
No missing-data inferenceMissing wording never means zero cost or unlimited access.
Keep an offline research copyPrint the full comparison or choose Save as PDF in your browser. All decision checkpoints are expanded for the print copy.

bankingreference.info · Comparison research sheet

Canara Junior Savings Account vs Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Prepared 14 Sep 2026 · Source page: https://bankingreference.info/compare-banking/canara-junior-savings-account-vs-union-bank-sbzer-student-savings-account/

General product research only. Recheck the listed first-party sources before acting because product terms can change after the recorded review dates.

Decision checkpoints

Answer the questions that can actually change the choice.

Each checkpoint reproduces the recorded product fields instead of assigning a winner. Read the condition, scope and missing-data state before treating a difference as useful to you.

01Can you maintain the required account conditions?Start with the eligible customer or relationship and any balance, funding or tenure requirement.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Eligibility
Minor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.
Balance / relationship
Balance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.

Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Eligibility
Students above 10 and up to 25 years pursuing regular courses. Accounts of student minors below 10 are operated by parent/guardian under current product FAQs.
Balance / relationship
No minimum balance requirement while the customer remains eligible for SBZER.
02Which charges apply to your account use?Read the full cost wording and scope rather than comparing isolated numbers.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Cost / charges
The current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.

Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Cost / charges
No minimum balance requirement under the current SBZER product page; nil NEFT charges are highlighted. Other service/card charges remain subject to the bank's current schedule.
03What operating and relationship rules could change the fit?Check limits and the ongoing relationship conditions before choosing.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Limits / allowances
Maximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.
Ongoing relationship rule
Canara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.

Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Limits / allowances
Union Bank currently publishes ₹25,000 daily ATM cash-withdrawal limit and ₹50,000 daily POS limit for the student proposition.
Ongoing relationship rule
Student-status relationship. Union Bank's published conversion notice states SBZER converts to normal savings after age 25, when ordinary savings-account terms apply.
Exact terms

Put the controlling banking fields side by side.

The stored field wording is preserved. Product-type-specific evidence follows this generic comparison where deeper structured research exists.

On a small screen, scroll this table sideways. The factor column stays visible.

Table region. When the region itself has keyboard focus, use Left and Right arrows to scroll horizontally; Home and End move to the start or end.

Banking product terms side by side for Canara Junior Savings Account and Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)
Decision factorCanara Junior Savings AccountUnion Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)
Cost / chargesThe current Canara Junior page does not state a conventional minimum-balance penalty; it instead defines operating caps and applies other savings-product terms unless specifically overridden.No minimum balance requirement under the current SBZER product page; nil NEFT charges are highlighted. Other service/card charges remain subject to the bank's current schedule.
Balance / relationshipBalance must not exceed ₹50,000 at any point under the current product page; the account must always remain in credit.No minimum balance requirement while the customer remains eligible for SBZER.
Core benefitsDebit card, branch withdrawal, free eligible fund transfer to colleges/educational institutions within the scheme limit, and conversion to regular savings after majority.Debit-card access with ₹2 lakh personal accidental death cover under current terms, internet/mobile banking, cheque access and nil NEFT charges.
Limits / allowancesMaximum monthly debit-card withdrawal ₹5,000; total debit transactions ₹10,000 per month; total credits ₹1 lakh per annum; balance ceiling ₹50,000.Union Bank currently publishes ₹25,000 daily ATM cash-withdrawal limit and ₹50,000 daily POS limit for the student proposition.
EligibilityMinor students above age 10 can open and operate independently, with parent/guardian declaration and student ID or educational-institution letter.Students above 10 and up to 25 years pursuing regular courses. Accounts of student minors below 10 are operated by parent/guardian under current product FAQs.
Ongoing relationship ruleCanara explicitly provides debit-card access but does not name the exact card variant on the Junior product page, so no named card edge is inferred.Student-status relationship. Union Bank's published conversion notice states SBZER converts to normal savings after age 25, when ordinary savings-account terms apply.
Wrong-fit risks

Keep each product’s cautions beside the product.

A useful comparison shows what can make either option unsuitable instead of averaging those conditions into a score.

Canara Bank

Canara Junior Savings Account

  • This is not an ordinary unrestricted student account; the ₹50,000 balance, ₹1 lakh annual-credit and ₹10,000 monthly-debit ceilings materially constrain use.
  • The debit-card monthly withdrawal cap is ₹5,000 even though the total monthly debit cap is ₹10,000.
  • The account converts to regular savings after majority, so adult account terms should be rechecked then.
Union Bank of India

Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

  • Age 25 is a scheme boundary, not a permanent zero-balance promise; post-conversion normal savings terms can change account economics.
  • The current page advertises a debit card but does not identify one exact card variant, so no named-card relationship edge is created.
  • Accident-insurance eligibility remains subject to debit-card/programme conditions.
Research tools

Continue from the pair into exact product-level research.

These tools help narrow or inspect the records. They do not replace bank eligibility, live pricing or account-specific controls.

Independent source state

Verify each product from its own bank evidence.

One side's source depth or freshness never fills a gap in the other record.

Union Bank of India

Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Reviewed
September 9, 2026
Attached first-party sources
2
Open primary bank source ↗

First-party source appendix

These are the exact source URLs already attached to the two research records. Re-open the controlling documents before relying on a fee, rate, limit, eligibility rule or benefit.

Canara Junior Savings Account

Reviewed September 9, 2026 · 1 attached first-party source

  1. Issuer product pagehttps://www.canarabank.bank.in/canara-junior-saving-account

Union Bank of India Savings Bank Account for Students (SBZER)

Reviewed September 9, 2026 · 2 attached first-party sources

  1. Issuer product pagehttps://www.unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/savings-bank-account-for-students-sbzer
  2. Issuer documenthttps://www.unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/sbzer_notice_for_conversion.pdf